Since its inception, St Paul’s Sinfonia has placed new and contemporary music at the very heart of its programme planning.  It has commissioned and/or premièred works from such composers as William Attwood, Mark Bowden, Elena Firsova, Timothy Jackson and Anna Meredith, as well as featuring other recent works by these composers.  In addition to its main concert programming, the Sinfonia runs a Young Composers Competition, which aims to raise the profile of talented composers still at the dawn of their careers.

Below is a list of the works St Paul’s Sinfonia has commissioned and/or premièred to date.  Some of our performances will soon be available to listen to on Soundcloud – watch this space!

  • CHRIS MAYO – Your future, ore smelter; better future, wharf spike
  • EMILY HALL – 26 horsepower
  • MARK BOWDEN – dark night day light
  • ANNA MEREDITH – butterfly flower
  • JOSHUA KOPECEK – Violin Concerto
  • LAURENCE ROMAN – Concertino for Viola
  • WILLIAM ATTWOOD – Double bass Concerto
  • MATT ROGERS – ‘exiles’
  • MATT ROGERS – no fear of the readiness potential
  • ELENA FIRSOVA – Cello Concerto No. 4
  • STUART HANCOCK – ‘One Week’
  • TIMOTHY JACKSON – Intrada (string orchestra version)
  • TIMOTHY JACKSON – Four Lancashire Folksong Settings